Connect with us


To pay or not to pay



President Cyril Ramaphosa announced in 2017 that from 1 May 2018 there would be a new minimum wage set and the domestic worker’s salary would be 75% of the new national wage of R20per hour, bringing their minimum monthly salary to R2625 or R15per hour. Currently many domestic workers take home as little as R1164 per months according to the National Minimum Wage Research Initiative and a report from local reporting show Carte Blanche.
This minimum wage really is a minimum wage, and will not go far for many trying to eke out decent living standard, and this is indeed doubtful on such a minimum wage vs high cost of living, transport and food in South Africa.
For many domestic workers are the front line of support within a household, from entrusting our children and home to them in our working absents. How many of us afford our domestics working benefits such as healthcare, pensions and travel allowances? Or is it a case of household’s doing the best they can with the little they have? Many are struggling to keep domestic workers employed even at minimum wage, and many domestic workers have seen their time and days been cut down to stay under or in line the families tight budget. This is not a win win for anyone, but what is the way forward?
From the legal side you must ensure you have a contract with your domestic workers, which is a vital document that protects you and your employee’s rights and will prevent a multitude of miscommunications. As the employer you also have registered and pay the UIF for each of your domestic workers.

Minimum wages for domestic workers who work more than 27 up to 45 ordinary hours per week up until 30 April 2018:

Area A: major metropolitan areas*
• Hourly rate : R13.05
• Weekly rate: R587.40
• Monthly rate: R2 545.22

Those not covered in Area A
• Hourly rate : R11.89
• Weekly rate: R534.91
• Monthly rate: R2 317.75

Weekly and monthly rates are indicative for employees working a maximum of 45 ordinary hours per week.
Minimum wages for domestic workers who work 27 ordinary hours per week or less:

As of 1 May 2018, new minimum wage applies

Area A: major metropolitan areas*
Hourly rate: R15.28
• Weekly rate: R412.60
• Monthly rate: R1 787.80

Those not covered in Area A
• Hourly rate: R14.03
• Weekly rate: R378.83
• Monthly rate: R1 641.48

Weekly and monthly rates are indicative for employees working a maximum of 27 ordinary hours per week.

*Area A major metropolitans include:
• B: Bergrivier Local Municipality, Breederivier Local Municipality, Buffalo City Local Municipality
• C: Cape Agulhas Local Municipality, Cederberg Local Municipality, City of Cape Town, City of Johannesburg Metropolitan Municipality, City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality
• D: Drakenstein Local Municipality
• E: Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality, Emalahleni Local Municipality, Emfuleni Local Municipality, Ethekwini Metropolitan Unicity
• G: Gamagara Local Municipality, George Local Municipality
• H: Hibiscus Coast Local Municipality
• K: Karoo Hoogland Local Municipality, Kgatelopele Local Municipality, Khara Hais Local Municipality, Knysna Local Municipality, Kungwini Local Municipality, Kouga Local Municipality
• L: Langeberg Local Municipality, Lesedi Local Municipality
• M: Makana Local Municipality, Mangaung Local Municipality, Matzikama Local Municipality, Metsimaholo Local Municipality, Middelburg Local Municipality, Midvaal Local Municipality, Mngeni Local Municipality, Mogale Local Municipality, Mosselbaai Local Municipality, Msunduzi Local Municipality, Mtubatu Local Municipality
• N: Nama Khoi Local Municipality, Nelson Mandela, Nokeng tsa Taemane Local Municipality
• O: Oudtshoorn Local Municipality, Overstrand Local Municipality
• P: Plettenbergbaai Local Municipality, Potchefstroom Local Municipality
• R: Randfontein Local Municipality, Richtersveld Local Municipality
• S: Saldanha Bay Local Municipality, Sol Plaatjie Local Municipality, Stellenbosch Local Municipality, Swartland Local Municipality, Swellendam Local Municipality
• T: Theewaterskloof Local Municipality
• U: Umdoni Local Municipality, uMhlathuze Local Municipality
• W: Witzenberg Local Municipality

** Reference and source: Parent24

Article supplied by  Sam Podmore

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Notify of